Warning: Undefined variable $fm_appid in /home/customer/www/cogenhoecc.co.uk/public_html/wp-content/plugins/facebook-members/facebook-members.php on line 71

Cooks scoop hat-trick at league awards

We enjoyed an excellent evening at the NCL League awards held at Wicksteed Park on Friday 15 th October. To win one award for a club of our size would have been some achievement but to win three was quite magnificent.

First was Ashley Davis our 14 year old leg spinner who picked up one of the young bowler of the year awards for his 28 wickets in division 12 last season. Ashley’s analysis for last season was 107.4-11-488-28 giving him an average of 17.43 and included hauls of 7-30 against Old II and 6-34 against Bugbrooke II. Ashley had no idea he had won the award which was presented to him by Mike Watkinson. The award was witnessed by proud  Mum, Julie Mason and a Cogenhoe contingent of, Syd Mason, Chris Towler, Charlie and Bev Bryant and Peter and Pauline Cox.

Next up was the Ground award for divisions 8 to 13 which was picked up by Charlie. This is most deserved award for the time and dedication put into our square and playing area by Charlie and Peter. My thanks also to Malcolm Browning and Ashley who have also given much needed help to Charlie and Peter. Our square  was quite superb this season and my congratulations to all concerned.

We then picked up the Ian Davidson Memorial Trophy for best publicity of a club through the media. Our nomination was for the superb website run by Jason Kruger, our Facebook and Twitter sites run by Mark Bird , our match reporting done by Allan Packer and our contributions to the village Parish magazine. Andrew Radd said after we had won the award that “it was hard to imagine a more “textbook” nomination for Ian’s award. Making use of different media outlets is exactly what we had in mind when we started up the award in Ian’s memory”. Kind words indeed and the icing on the cake after picking up such an award.

My thanks and congratulations to all those mentioned above and I look forward to celebrating our success next Saturday at our own awards night.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *